Leona Lewis – Bleeding Love

Leona Lewis’s “Bleeding Love” is just another sentimental pop song. But it pushes the envelope with its central masochistic metaphor of love: “You cut me open, and I keep bleeding love.” The blood is the love, and the cut makes it flow.

So what are we to learn from this? We need to cut to cause the response we crave – metaphorically speaking. Like emotional surgeons, we need to suspend empathy and cut into the living flesh – to heal the patient.

“Closed off from love
I didn’t need the pain
Once or twice was enough
And it was all in vain
Time starts to pass
Before you know it you’re frozen
Ooooh…

But something happened
For the very first time with you
My heart melted into the ground
Found something true
And everyone’s looking ’round
Thinking I’m going crazy
Oooh, yahhh

But I don’t care what they say
I’m in love with you
They try to pull me away
But they don’t know the truth
My heart’s crippled by the vein
That I keep on closing

You cut me open and I
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
I keep bleeding
I keep, keep bleeding love
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
You cut me open
Oooh, oooh…

Trying hard not to hear
But they talk so loud
Their piercing sounds fill my ears
Try to fill me with doubt
Yet I know that their goal
Is to keep me from falling
Hey, yeah!”

Friends are trying to “keep [her] from falling”. How does this fit with the notion that the female sexual response is very susceptible to other people’s judgment? These judgments just reaffirm that he is dangerous, thus powerful, thus irresistible.

“But nothing’s greater
Than the rush that comes with your embrace
And in this world of loneliness
I see your face
Yet everyone around me
Thinks that I’m going crazy
Maybe, maybe

But I don’t care what they say
I’m in love with you
They try to pull me away
But they don’t know the truth
My heart’s crippled by the vein
That I keep on closing

You cut me open and I
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
I keep bleeding
I keep, keep bleeding love
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love

You cut me open
And it’s draining all of me
Oh they find it hard to believe
I’ll be wearing these scars
For everyone to see

I don’t care what they say
I’m in love with you
They try to pull me away
But they don’t know the truth
My heart’s crippled by the pain
That I keep all closed in

You cut me open and I
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
I keep bleeding
I keep, keep bleeding love
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love

You cut me open and I
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
I keep bleeding
I keep, keep bleeding love
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love
You cut me open and I
Keep bleeding
Keep, keep bleeding love”

One Response to “Leona Lewis – Bleeding Love”

  1. Without Wings Says:

    I found your blog today, and I really like these lyric analysis posts.

    For several weeks I listened to this song, when I was having my miscarriage, and feeling lost and lovesick over someone I could not be with, but who still had a lot of power over me.

    Yes, and I kept literally bleeding… for several weeks.

    I wonder if female sexual response requires pain, or at the very least, the tolerance of it? Even the arousal itself for the female can be painful and overwhelming.

    Reading this is bringing back some of those feelings. I’m not sure if I needed this today, but maybe I did.

    I’ll keep reading.

Leave a Reply

