Fiona Apple – Sleep to dream

Let me confuse Fiona with her narrator in this song (and myself with the guy) and respond line-by-line to this largely ridiculous rant…

“I tell you how I feel, but you don’t care.”

Well, caring is doubly dangerous for him – while it is only singly dangerous for her.

Why? Because she might lose interest because he cares. His attraction may fade when she loses her beauty. But it will never be diminished by her caring. Of course, caring always carries an intrinsic danger for either sex.

Note also that while she complains that he doesn’t care, there is no evidence in the song of her caring. Synoptically, this song says “Fuck you, I don’t care.” – which probably means she’s in love with him, but now things are fucked up beyond repair.

“I say tell me the truth, but you don’t dare.
You say love is a hell you cannot bear.
And I say gimme mine back and then go there – for all I care.”

Fuck, Fiona, stop flaunting your nimble mind with this pronoun play. It’s too fucking sexy.

“I got my feet on the ground and I don’t go to sleep to dream.

Blah, blah, blah. You never had to have your feet on the ground in your life. You are a dreamer if I ever saw one. You wake to dream. This pose of masculine groundedness is farcical.

“You got your head in the clouds and you’re not at all what you seem.”

Not allowed to have my head in the clouds as a man, then? Of course, why would you see this differently. You’re just like everyone else! But perhaps I’ve got my feet on the ground and my head in the clouds. I might just be that tall.

“This mind, this body, and this voice cannot be stifled by your deviant ways.
So don’t forget what I told you, don’t come around, I got my own hell to raise.”

This, this, this. Me, me, me. I see.

“I have never been so insulted in all my life.
I could swallow the seas to wash down all this pride.
First you run like a fool just to be at my side.
And now you run like a fool, but you just run to hide, and I can’t abide.

She is insulted. Things are looking up! I’ll throw one more insult and we can have sex. Please do the pronoun play again, it’s so fucking sexy.

“I got my feet on the ground and I don’t go to sleep to dream.
You got this head in the clouds and you’re not at all what you seem.
This mind, this body, and this voice cannot be stifled by your deviant ways.
So don’t forget what I told you, don’t come around, I got my own hell to raise.
Don’t make it a big deal, don’t be so sensitive.
We’re not playing a game anymore, you don’t have to be so defensive.”

Not playing a game anymore? This makes me smile. I don’t believe a word. Just because you’re worked up, does not mean you’re not in control of this production.

“Don’t you plead me your case, don’t bother to explain.
Don’t even show me your face, cuz its a crying shame.
Just go back to the rock from under which you came.
Take the sorrow you gave and all the stakes you claim –
And don’t forget the blame.”

That sexy cleverness again! I wish I hadn’t gotten emotional with this one: she’d still be mine. Can I turn cold now? Is it too late?

“I got my feet on the ground and I don’t go to sleep to dream.
You got this head in the clouds and you’re not at all what you seem.
This mind, this body, and this voice cannot be stifled by your deviant ways.
So don’t forget what I told you, don’t come around, I got my own hell to raise.”

2 Responses to “Fiona Apple – Sleep to dream”

  1. Artful Dodger Says:

    “Well, caring is doubly dangerous for him – while it is only singly dangerous for her.

    Why? Because she might lose interest because he cares.”

    This is true for many women. Not all. But many.

    I had the misfortune of getting involved with a woman that Roissy would describe as an “Eternal Ingenue.”

    http://roissy.wordpress.com/2008/09/17/how-to-handle-femmes-fatales-part-2a/

    She was 27 at the time. I made two fatal assumptions: (1) women in their late 20s were past their jerk phase and (2) women have a much stronger desire to be married as they approach 30, and thus do not date for “fun” anymore. Since she agreed to go out on a date with me, I assumed that it was only a moment of time before she’d be pressuring me into writing wedding vows.

    How do I know she was an ingenue, you may ask? Let’s see.

    -She said “I don’t play games” on our first date

    -She suggested going for a romantic walk after the date. She pulled away from the first kiss and says “Don’t you dare” and then proceeds to kiss anyway

    -She invites me out to a firm picnic the very next morning

    -After three dates, she tells me that the breakup with her last boyfriend stemmed from a facebook message from another woman who said that she was sleeping with said boyfriend

    -She was a facebookaholic. Lots of photo albums, multiple posts a day, and constantly changing profile pics where drooling guys wrote: “You should be on a runway in Paris, not in an office cubicle.”

    -The most telling indication was her “About Me” section, which stated: “You’ve got great hair, nice teeth, a great figure, sexy legs, a good job, a fun personality…can you cook too?” She attributes this quote to a male friend of hers (yeah right).

    -She told me that she had no trouble meeting quality men. Only ugly girls, she said, complain about not meeting quality men.

    -She said she gets bored easily

    Needless to say, she terminated our “relationship” once it became clear that I was falling for her. Why I put up with this? Because she was an 8, she had all of the physical attributes I wanted, she was foreign, and she had a very charismatic personality. She was good at finding my weak underbelly, stroking it with hints of a relationship, and then withdrawing her affection once I reciprocated.

    It turned out that her last boyfriend was a sociopath who had no qualms about infecting women with STDs. When I saw her at a gathering a few months later, and she saw I was with a new chick, she started shamelessly flirting with guys in front of us and even followed us around the party. She then started texting me again and made it a point to always call my new girlfriend by the wrong name. She even asked me out one night, and when I told her I was spending the evening with my girl, she replied: “I HATE HER.”

    Moral of the story: These chicks are crazy.

    • stagetwo Says:

      ha ha ha, i think i’ve dated that one. but isn’t what you refer to as your “fatal assumptions” here quite similar to your comments on “equality and power dynamics” and “the sexually-successful son hypothesis”: that women in their late 20s really change their preferences. well, they’re not all the same — except in some ways, as are we.

Leave a Reply

